Rocket League Ranks: How the Competitive Ranking System Works

Anastasios Antoniadis

When you’re new to competitive Rocket League, Rocket League rankings can be challenging to understand. Understanding Rocket League ranks is essential to show off your flying car football game skills. But not all competitive ranks are created equal. Rocket League’s ranks range from Supersonic Legend to Bronze.?

Rocket League Competitive Playlists and Ranks

You can find Rocket League competitive playlists by clicking Play, followed by Competitive:

  • 3v3 Standard
  • 2v2 Doubles
  • 1v1 Solo Duel

Every competitive game mode will have its own rank. You must play ten placement games as a competitive player before being placed in your assigned rank.?

Rocket League will measure your skill level through placement games and then place you with players of similar ability. You must play ten matches (30 matches) for each playlist until you have three different Rocket League ranks.

These three playlists are the basis of the Rocket League ranking system. The most common game modes you will see pro players and content creators playing are 1v1, 2v2, and 3v3. 

These competitive Rocket League playlists differ from casual playlists in-game; if you leave a competitive match early without forfeiting, you will be penalized, and bots will not replace players who abandon a match.

Rocket League Extra Mode Playlists and Ranks

The game modes below are not competitive, but you can still get ranked in them after playing ten games of each:

  • 2v2 Hoops
  • 3v3 Dropshot
  • 3v3 Snow Day
  • 3v3 Rumble

Even though they are not competitive, these modes still require a lot of skill. Especially in Dropshot and Hoops, aerial duels are crucial, so they implemented ranks so that players with less skill weren’t beaten to every ball by much more advanced players.

All Rocket League Competitive Ranks

Rocket League Competitive Ranks
Image: Epic Games

There are three tiers within each rank, excluding Supersonic Legend:

  1. Unranked
  2. Bronze
  3. Silver
  4. Gold
  5. Platinum
  6. Diamond
  7. Champion
  8. Grand Champion
  9. Supersonic Legend

Thus, these are all the ranks in Rocket League:

  1. Unranked
  2. Bronze I
  3. Bronze II
  4. Bronze III
  5. Silver I
  6. Silver II
  7. Silver III
  8. Gold I
  9. Gold II
  10. Gold III
  11. Platinum I
  12. Platinum II
  13. Platinum III
  14. Diamond I
  15. Diamond II
  16. Diamond III
  17. Champion I
  18. Champion II
  19. Champion III
  20. Grand Champion I
  21. Grand Champion II
  22. Grand Champion III
  23. Supersonic Legend

Within each rank tier, there are four Divisions:

  • Division I
  • Division II
  • Division III
  • Division IV

Once you reach Supersonic Legend, the game no longer uses the tiered ranking system.

Rocket League’s relatively new Supersonic Legend rank is one of the most welcome changes since its introduction. Psyonix added the Supersonic Legend rank to Rocket League while the game went free-to-play, and it will set the exceptional players apart. 

The Grand Champion rank was becoming saturated as every player developed their skills, and adding a new tier gave the genuinely talented players something to strive for. 

Rocket League MMR tracker

Unfortunately, Rocket League doesn’t show you your MMR (matchmaking rank). This is true for almost every rank. However, you can finally see your MMR once you reach the Grand Champion rank.

You can still track your stats in lower ranks using Rocket League trackers. Rocket League trackers are third-party tools that can help you run more stats than you find in-game, so you might be able to figure out your MMR before Grand Champion. MMR is not affected by individual performances like goals and assists; wins matter.

Although the two are closely related, MMR determines your matchup against opponents, not necessarily your in-game rank. 

As a result, if you win a match against someone with a higher MMR, you will receive more points than if you beat someone with a lower MMR. If you lose to someone higher ranked, you will lose fewer points than those who are lower.

Rocket League Ranks Seasonal Rewards

Each season, your rank resets, and you must play ten placement games again in each playlist. At the end of the season, you will receive rewards based on your rank. Rewards can range from car decals to wheels, boosts, and other cosmetics that you can use to brag about your final position to your friends.?

Also, you’ll unlock the rewards for the Rocket League ranks below you, so if you finish in Gold, you’ll get everything the Silver and Bronze players get, although you’ll probably want to use the highest tier rewards on your car.

Anastasios Antoniadis
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x