Lost Ark’s record-setting pace continues on Steam, tops New World

Amazon's Lost Ark recently published online game has broken many playtime records on Steam digital storefront. Smilegate RPG developed Lost Ark, a massively multiplayer online role-playing gaming game (MMORPG). Lost Ark first launched in South Korea in the latter part of 2019.

The world of Arkesia is populated by young warriors, mages, and martial artists. They are also magic-users chosen by prophecy to find artifacts to save the world from the awakening chaos force.

Lost Ark peak concurrent users 24hour and all time image from Steam DBnbsp image13
Image source: SteamDB

SteamDB independent trackers showed that Lost Ark quickly rose the charts after its February 11 launch. It reached an all-time high of 1,325,305 Steam players on February 12, the highest ever recorded.

Steam Charts Top Records Lost Ark tops New Worldnbsp image14
Image source: Steam Charts

This number is second only to the 3.26 million player record that PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds set in 2018. It also marks the highest number of concurrent users any MMORPG has recorded on Steam surpassing New World, also released by Amazon Games. Lost Ark was also the most-played game in Steam within 24 hours of its launch.

This influx of people seemed to cause some problems initially. Users reported connectivity issues and increased queue times. Developer Smilegate decided to open another North American server soon after launch.

Now it's Europe's turn to face character creation restrictions, with Amazon launching a new server region and 8 new European servers to alleviate the long-queue and restriction issues.

Lost Ark is an ARPG / MMO with isometric action, similar to Diablo. It features 15 classes, a cinematic campaign, and co-op PvE fighting. It was first released in South Korea in 2019, followed by Japan and Russia. A North American and European release is expected to arrive this week.

The game has a massive viewership on Twitch. According to TwitchTracker, the game had a peak of over 1.27 million concurrent viewers on its early access launch on February 8th.

The free items that Lost Ark players receive for playing the game are critical in its streaming success. Early access content creators participated in the Legends of Lost Ark launch party, where they competed to unlock Twitch Drops and other goodies for viewers.

Twitch users have the opportunity to unlock a Battle Chest Item and an Arkesia Paper Hat Chest. The Helgaia Pet Chest also includes a Neugier hoverboard mount from February 28. This incentive was made possible by Twitch owner Amazon funding the western release.

Lost Ark was officially launched on February 11, 2009, at 9 a.m. Pacific/ 12 p.m. Eastern/ 5 p.m. UK (that's Tuesday, February 12th at 4 a.m. AEDT).