how to deactivate or delete snapchat

How to deactivate or delete a Snapchat account

Last updated:

This post will show you how to delete Snapchat accounts. We have the solution for you if you’re in a social crisis and need to delete your Snapchat accounts. Another social media platform that could potentially compromise your privacy is Snapchat.

If you are considering closing your Snapchat account, this guide will show you how to permanently delete and deactivate your Snapchat account.

Snapchat explains, “While your account has been deactivated, friends will no longer be able to contact you or interact with you on Snapchat. Your account will be permanently deleted after 30 days.

This means your account, settings, friends and Snaps, Chats, Story, location data, and location data in the main user database will all be deleted.

How to deactivate or delete your Snapchat account on your computer

How to deactivate or delete your Snapchat account on your computer
Image Source: Snapchat/Meta Game Guides

You can delete Snapchat accounts via the Accounts page.

  1. First, open your web browser.
  2. Next, go to https://support.snapchat.com.
  3. Next, click on Security in the left-hand menu.
  4. Next, click Account security and then choose Delete my Account.
  5. Now, click the blue link Accounts Portal.
  6. Log in using your account details
  7. You’ll be asked to confirm that you want to delete your Snapchat account. Enter your username, and password, and then click Continue to close the page.

You still have 30 days to activate your Snapchat account after you’ve deactivated it. Log in to the Snapchat app using your username and password. It can take up to 24 hours for an account to be reactivated.

How to deactivate or delete Snapchat account on iPhone or Android device

How to delete Snapchat account on iPhone or Android
Image Source: Snapchat/Meta Game Guides

It’s the same process for Android and iPhone smartphones. You can do everything via the Snapchat app or Snapchat’s website.

  1. Open the Snapchat app.
  2. Tap the top-left corner to tap your avatar.
  3. Tap the gear icon in the upper right corner.
  4. Scroll down to the Support heading, and then press I need help.
  5. This link will take you to Snapchat’s support site, much like the desktop case. To delete your Snapchat account, use the hamburger menu to open the menu. Next, open the account information menu by selecting “Account & Security”.
  6. Follow the instructions by clicking the Accounts Portal hyperlink in the text.
  7. You are now at the account deletion page. Enter your username and password to place your account in the 30-day recovery period. Tap Continue to delete your account. If you do not log in again, it will be removed one month later.

How to permanently delete Snapchat

After taking steps to delete your Snapchat account, it will first be deactivated for 30 days. While your account is deactivated, your friends will not be able to contact or interact with you on Snapchat.

After 30 days, your Snapchat account will be permanently deleted. This means that your account, account settings, friends, Snaps, Chats, Story, device data, and location data in our main user database will be deleted. However, please note the following:

We may retain some personal data for certain legal, security, and business needs. For example, we’ll retain information about any purchases you may have made through Snapchat and when you accepted our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Snapchat ToS

How to reactivate your Snapchat account

You can reactivate an account by logging back into Snapchat with your username within thirty days of your account being deactivated. Note that logging in with your email and password will not work.

It may take up to 24 hours for a deactivated account to be reactivated.

Other social media platforms like Snapchat have security and privacy issues. Please use them with extra caution.

FAQ

How to delete Snapchat from your phone?

On recent versions of Android, tap and hold the app icon to reveal the app’s pop-up menu. The menu will feature an uninstall button at the bottom left which you can press to delete Snapchat from your phone, as shown in the image below:

How to delete Snapchat app android. How to uninstall Snapchat.
Tap the Uninstall button to delete Snapchat from your Android smartphone.

On iOS, touch and hold the app icon, the icon will start shaking and you tap again to delete the app. Alternatively, you can go to Settings > General iPhone Storage, to find and delete Snapchat.

How to delete Snapchat conversations/How to clear Snapchat conversations

You can follow these steps to delete a Snapchat conversation:

  1. Tap the cog button in your Profile screen to open Settings.
  2. Scroll down and press ‘Clear Conversations.
  3. Tap the ‘X‘ next to a name to clear a conversation.

How to delete Snapchat messages

You can only delete a Snapchat message before the recipient opens it.

Here’s how to do it on your iPhone or Android in the Snapchat mobile app: 

  1. Open Snapchat.
  2. Right swipe to open your chats.
  3. Tap the conversation containing the message you want to delete.
  4. Locate the message you want to delete, then tap and hold it to open a pop-up menu.
  5. Choose Delete in the pop-up.