How to delete your Instagram account

In this post, we will explain how to delete your Instagram account.

Privacy, privacy, privacy. When you use social media, like Instagram, Facebook, or Snapchat, your privacy is at risk by default. Additionally, in this case, a VPN won't save you. For instance, the Instagram app tracks your location by default.

Even if you disable location services for IG, it still tracks your activity within the app. Metrics such as likes, comments, last online activity, and more are monitored.

Looking at an influencer's or business's Instagram Insights before GDPR would give you an idea of how much is tracked.

Privacy scandals and Instagram or Facebook have gone hand in hand in the past, such as:

When browsing Instagram or any other website, using any web browser makes your activity susceptible to tracking using third-party cookies and other advertising software.

Here is where using adblocking software and high-quality VPN providers like ExpressVPN, NordVPN, or Cyberghost come in handy. If you want to achieve anonymity, use the Tor browser, but you should avoid logging in to Instagram as cookies compromise everything.

Think about it for a second though. Everything you may want nobody to know about your online activity is already known to some parties. Social networking is a risky activity.

Considering the tracking record (pun intended) of Instagram and other advertising platforms, you may want to either contact Instagram support for answers to your privacy concerns. Or take more severe action and straight out delete your account.

This guide is here to guide you step by step through your Instagram account deletion.

Deactivate vs Delete Instagram account: What you need to know

You can both deactivate and permanently delete your Instagram account, depending on your preference. Deactivating your account is temporary, but your account, along with your profile, followers, photos, likes, and comments, will be hidden from other users. You can restore your account state and information by logging back in.

On the other hand, deleting your Instagram account cannot be undone – you cannot restore a deleted account. When you delete your Instagram account, all of your data, including photos, followers, likes, etc., will be deleted once and for all. In the future, if you choose to sign up to Instagram again, you won’t be able to use the same username, nor will anyone else ever(?).

How to deactivate an Instagram Account

You can’t deactivate Instagram through the app; it has to be done on a web browser on the Instagram website. If you want to take a break from Instagram, you can deactivate your account by taking these steps:

  1. On the Instagram website, log in to your account and click on the person icon to go to your profile page.
  2. Select ‘Edit Profile,’ scroll to the bottom of the page, and click ‘Temporarily disable my account.’
  3. You will be asked, ‘Why are you disabling your account?’, select a reason from the drop-down menu.
  4. Re-enter your password and select ‘Temporarily disable account.’
  5. Your account is now deactivated; it won't be visible to other users until you log in to it once again.

NOTE: As per Instagram’s usage policy, you can only deactivate your Instagram account once a week.

How to download your Instagram data

On the other hand, once you’ve deleted your Instagram account, all of your data is gone for good. You cannot retrieve it. Consequently, you may want to download your Instagram data before you delete your account. This way you won't lose all the profile photos, videos, etc., that you have posted over time.

To download a copy of your Instagram data, follow the steps below:

  1. Go to your Instagram profile and select ‘Settings‘ (gear icon).
  2. Click on the ‘Privacy & Security tab and click ‘Request Download.’
  3. Enter the email address where you would like to receive a link to your Instagram data, followed by your password.
  4. Within 48 hours, you should receive an email with a link to your data, titled ‘Your Instagram Data.’ Click ‘Download Data.’

How to delete your Instagram account: Step-by-step guide

Just like deactivating your account, to delete your Instagram account, you need to use Instagram's website. Here are the steps to delete your Instagram account:

  1. First, you need to go to Instagram's website and log in to your account.
instagram loginnbsp instagramlogin
  1. You can then go to Instagram's “Delete Your Account” page. You need to select the reason for deleting your account from the drop-down menu before proceeding to the actual account deletion.
delete instagram accountnbsp delete instagram account
  • The final step requires you to type your account password to authorize your Instagram account deletion.
instagram account delete account authorizationnbsp instagramdeletionauthorize

By completing this process, you have now successfully deleted your Instagram account permanently.

Final Notes

Our privacy is at risk daily, and removing your digital footprint and your social media presence is just one part of the equation. Whether you delete or deactivate your account is up to you. While you can never be entirely sure that you are not under threat, there are many steps you can take to protect your privacy. Deleting Instagram accounts, Snapchat accounts, and other social media accounts is just the tip of the iceberg.